• Length 3 years full-time
  • Minimum 144 Units
Admission requirements
  • Mode of delivery
    • Internal

Back to the Juris Doctor page

The Juris Doctor (JD) program requires completion of 144 units (24 courses) consisting of 15 compulsory courses (96 units) and nine elective LAWS courses (48 units) of which at least four courses (24 units) must be LAWS 8000 level courses from an approved list and one course (6 units) must be completed from a list of approved capstone courses.


Please refer to the New Students - JD Students | ANU College of Law page. You will find all the information you require to activate your ANU email account, enrol into courses and our O ‘Week and induction session details. You will also find your recommended study plan



Students who have undertaken previous study that is relevant to their current academic program can request to receive course credit based on their prior learning. University rules, policy and procedure relating to the granting credit is set out in the Coursework Awards RulePolicy: Credit and Procedure: Credit. For more information and how to apply, please refer to the ANU College of Law Application for Credit/Status.

Academic Advice

If you require further information or advice regarding your degree, please contact the College Student and Education Support Team.
Ground floor 5 Fellows Rd
Telephone: +61 2 6125 3483
Email: enquiries.law@anu.edu.au

Back to the top

Responsible Officer: Registrar, Student Administration / Page Contact: Website Administrator / Frequently Asked Questions